Winner of the Rising Writer Prize in Fiction

March 8, 2023

Autumn House would like to congratulate Lynn Schmeidler. Her collection, Half-Lives, was selected as the winner of our 2023 Rising Writer Prize in Fiction by Matt Bell.


Lynn Schmeidler‘s fiction has appeared in Kenyon Review Online, Conjunctions, Georgia Review, The Southern Review, and other literary magazines. Her story, “Being Stevie” received a notable citation in Best American Short Stories. She is the recipient of a Sewanee Writers Conference Tennessee Williams scholarship in fiction and has been awarded residencies at Vermont Studio Center and Virginia Center for Creative Arts.

We’re so pleased to publish this debut collection in Spring 2024. 


We’d also like to congratulate the finalists and semi-finalists for their manuscripts. Thank you to everyone who submitted. We’re grateful for the opportunity to have gotten to read your work, and we are wishing you success. 
Thanks also to the judge, Matt Bell, for all his hard work.



The Ghost Town Collectives and Other Stories by Brittney Corrigan

The Lucky Ones by Brian Crawford

Stealing Home by Sharon Hashimoto

Wild Things: Stories by Christina Kapp

Behind the Higher Hill: A Novel by Bradford Kammin

This is Not Skin by Nathan Roberts

Now I’m Photogenic and Other Stories I Tell Myself by Jill Rosenberg



Techniques for Breathing Underwater by Nathaniel Eddy

Like Disaster by Rachel Ewing

My Prisoner & Other Stories by Tyler McAndrew

The Young Fate by Scott Robinson

Filed under: Contests