Chapbook Contest

Formerly the Coal Hill Review Chapbook Contest

We are interested in reading and publishing a wide range of poetry. We ask that all chapbook submissions come through our annual chapbook contest. The final judge for the 2018 competition is Gerry LaFemina. The winner of the Autumn House chapbook contest receives publication and $1,000. We plan to notify finalists in November, and the winning chapbook will be posted by December 15.

Chapbook Contest Guidelines

  • Autumn House will accept submissions between August 1st – November 1st.
  • The reading fee for the Chapbook Contest is $20.
  • Manuscript length should be 12-20 pages.
  • Please don’t include your name anywhere on the actual manuscript. Include your name and contact information in the “cover letter” section of Submittable. Include a brief bio.
  • Feel free to include a Table of Contents, if appropriate.
  • Simultaneous submissions permitted. Please inform Autumn House immediately of publication elsewhere.


Winners of the Coal Hill Chapbook Contest:

2008 The Ghetto Exorcist by James Tyner
2009 Shake It and It Snows by Gailmarie Pahmeier
2010 Shelter by Gigi Marks
2011 Bathhouse Betty by Matthew Terhune
2012 Rooms of the Living by Paul Martin (co-winner)
2012 Prayers of an American Wife by Victoria Kelly (co-winner)
2013 The Welter of Me and You by Peter Schireson
2014 A Green River in Spring by Matthew Thorburn
2015 English Kills by Monica Wendel
2016 Herald by Roberta P. Feins
2017 American Parable by Sonia Greenfield