Given Shortlisted for the Laurel Prize!

September 11, 2023

Liza Katz Duncan’s debut collection, Given, has now been shortlisted for the 2023 Laurel Prize, an annual prize awarded to the best collection of environmental or nature poetry published that year. We couldn’t be happier for Liza! Congratulations too to the the four other authors on this year’s shortlist:

Jorie Graham, To 2040
Holly Hopkins, The English Summer
Zaffar Kunial, England’s Green
Yvonne Reddick, Burning Season

We would like to thank Simon Armitage who graciously donated his Poet Laureate’s honorarium for prize winners; the Poetry School for facilitating the prize; and the judges of this year’s prize, poets Pascale Petit (Chair) and Nick Laird, and Journalist Reeta Chakrabarti. For more info on the prize, check out the Laurel Prize’s website.


Filed under: Award