Guidelines for the 2017 Autumn House Poetry Contest

For the 2017 contest, the preliminary judges are members of the Autumn House staff, and the final judge is Alberto Ríos. The winner will be awarded publication of a full-length manuscript and $2,500. The submission period opens January 1, 2017 and the postmark deadline for entries is June 30, 2017. For further questions, feel free to email us.

  • The winner will receive book publication, $1,000 advance against royalties, and a $1,500 travel/publicity grant to promote their book.
  • All finalists will be considered for publication.
  • Poetry submissions should be approximately 50-80 pages. 
  • Contest results will be announced on our website www.autumnhouse.org.
  • Please include with manuscript: Cover letter with all current contact information (name, address, phone number, and email address), table of contents, and acknowledgments of previously published poems. (Paper submissions should also include SASE. If you would like to confirm that your manuscript has been received, please also include a stamped postcard that requests acknowledgement of receipt. We cannot email or call to let you know your ms was received.)
  • Autumn House Press assumes no responsibility for lost or damaged manuscripts.
  • All entries must be clearly marked “Poetry Prize” on the outside envelope.
  • Thirty dollar handling fee (check or money order) must be enclosed.
  • Send manuscript and $30.00 fee to:

Autumn House Press
PO Box 5486
Pittsburgh, PA 15206


Winners of the Autumn House Poetry Prize:

Year Author Title Judge
2016 Jane Satterfield Apocalypse Mix David St. John
2015 Brian Swann St. Francis and the Flies Dorianne Laux
2014 Ellery Akers Practicing the Truth Alicia Ostriker
2013 Danusha Lameris The Moons of August Naomi Shihab Nye
2012 Chelsea Rathburn A Raft of Grief Stephen Dunn
2011 Brian Brodeur Natural Causes Denise Duhamel
2010 Corrinne Clegg Hales To Make It Right Claudia Emerson
2009 Jacqueline Berger The Gift that Arrives Broken Alicia Ostriker
2008 Mary Crockett Hill A Theory of Everything Naomi Shihab Nye
2007 Miriam Levine The Dark Opens Mark Doty
2006 Nancy Pagh No Sweeter Fat Tim Seibles
2005 Ada Limon lucky wreck Jean Valentine
2004 Ruth L. Schwartz Dear Good Naked Morning Alicia Ostriker
2003 Deborah Slicer The White Calf Kicks Naomi Shihab Nye