Fiction Contest

Guidelines for the 2018 Autumn House Fiction Contest

For the 2018 contest, the preliminary judges are members of the Autumn House staff, and the final judge is Dana Johnson. The winner will be awarded publication of a full-length manuscript and $2,500. The submission period opens January 1, 2018 and closes June 30, 2018 (Eastern Time). If you have any questions, please check our FAQs page!

  • The winners will receive book publication, $1,000 advance against royalties, and a $1,500 travel/publicity grant to promote their book.
  • All finalists will be considered for publication.
  • Fiction submissions should be approximately 200-300 pages. All fiction sub-genres (short stories, short-shorts, novellas, or novels) or any combination of sub-genres are eligible.
  • Contest results will be announced on our website
  • Please don’t include your name anywhere on the actual MS. Include your name and contact info in the “cover letter” section of Submittable as well as a brief bio. Feel free to include a TOC.
  • We no longer accept paper submissions.

submit online

Winners of the Autumn House Fiction Prize:

Year Author Title Judge
2017 Glori Simmons Carry You Amina Gautier
2016 Andrew Bourelle Heavy Metal William Lychack
2015 Kathy Anderson Bull and Other Stories Sharon Dilworth
2014 Mark Brazaitis Truth Poker Sharon Dilworth
2013 Tom Noyes Come by Here Kathleen George
2012 Sarah Gerkensmeyer What You Are Now Enjoying Stewart O’Nan
2011 Sharma Shields Favorite Monster Stewart O’Nan
2010 Ashley Cowger Peter Never Came Sharon Dilworth
2009 Matthew Pitt Attention Please Now Sharon Dilworth
2008 Samuel Ligon Drift and Swerve Sharon Dilworth